Calling All Mirena Users

So, I’m thinking about getting the Mirena IUD. Actually, I have an appointment to do it this week. I am a bit freaked out by a couple things and would love to hear from people who aleady use it. All feedback is welcomed, but I’m obviously most interested in the positive stories.

Thanks in advance!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Constance
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 13:03:13

    Hi, I have one. The good news is that it has been effective as birth control, but I had also hoped that it would help regulate my period, and hasn’t (there may be other factors involved, such as my age…early 40’s…and stres level…through the roof!). On the other hand, despite the fact that my lover has said he can sometimes feel it, I don’t ever think about it really (I don’t feel it; forget it’s even there) and it doesn’t bother him. Everyone is different, so by all means, give it a try, keep it six months or whatever, and then if you’re not happy, you can have it removed.

    Hope that helps at least a little.

  2. sin
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 06:32:35

    Hi there,

    I have had Mirena IUDs for about 5 1/2 years, so I have actually had 2 of them, the first for 4 years, the second now for about a year and a half.

    I guess I was happy enough with the first one to decide to get the second.

    I did have some concerns, about possibly not getting periods while I was using it, and what that was doing to my body, but I guess I decided that I was comfortable with it overall.

    When I got the first one, I think I bled a lot for the first 3 or 3 months, not constantly, but a lot. And then didn’t really have a real period for the next 3 3/4 years, which really, was sooooo good once I got used to the wierdness of it. I did have occaisional spotting but very rare.

    When I got the new one about a year and a half ago, I expected the same kind of thing would happen but in fact it didn’t. I had a bit of bleeding when it first went it, and since then I have had regular periods again (which came as a nasty shock, I had forgotten all the sucky things that go with periods, everything from expense to inconvenience to ruining your favourite panties).

    If you have more specific questions let me know.

    sin

  3. Hermione
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 09:12:26

    I am not familiar with Mirena, but I did wear the same IUD for over 30 years. It worked. I never got pregnant, and never had any problems with it. The downside was heavy periods lasting 7 days. For long-term birth control, I thought it was a better choice than the Pill.

    Hugs,
    Hermione

Leave a comment